A prayer of Don

 

Hear me, o Lord, in the middle of the night.

Give ear to the pleading of my heart.

Listen up!

I know I am not what you expect me to be,

But heart is in your favor.

 

Take my right hand in yours, Lord

Lead me in your path of Righteousness.

Care for me and protect me as one would protect

his eyeballs from the blowing sands of life.

 

My will is to do your Will, Lord,

But our enemy, the devil, is hot on my heals!

He waits with baited breath to see if I will pick up his lies,

to fall for his line, to try his latest gimmick.

 

I have purposed in my heart to follow You, to obey your Word.

I try daily to not stray onto the easy, paved paths

that lead to destruction.

But listen up, Lord, I need your left hand of guidance,

Your right hand of deliverance.

 

Yes, I need your corrections.

I cannot make this journey alone.

Give me the traction that I need

to keep from slipping off your paths

 

Through your Son, Jesus,

You have conquered the evil one,

But he still thrashes about in the throes of death

Determined to include all children of men in his destruction.

So deliver us in the battle for our minds.

We battle not with an enemy we can see, but with one

as unseen as a breeze, and as destructive as a tornado.

And for now,

I will gaze upon your righteousness.

I will trust in your deliverance.

I will believe in the transforming power that is found in Jesus.

 

And, I shall be satisfied,

when I awake from that last sleep,

with the likeness of you from my insides outward.

Forever Amen.

 

 

 

