A Writing Challenge


A few weeks ago one of the staff members challenged us to try our hand at composing a Psalm, after the manner of King David. “Fashion it in today’s English and today’s issues, but make it read like it was written 3,000 years ago.”

To give these Psalms a reference, I call them by the year in which they were written, followed by a sequential number. Thus my first one was Psalm 2014:1

Psalm 2014:1

I will praise you, o my Lord

Praise you for your infinite grace.

When my enemy surrounds me

I will lift my voice in praise.

I will praise you for comfort

Praise you for leading.

When my internet goes down

And my blood pressure goes up.

I will give you, O Lord,

The focus of my life.

When my car won’t start

Its battery dead,

Even then will I praise your name.

When my router crashes

And my hard drive won’t spin,

I will turn to you, O Lord,

For it is you who saves.

Though I walk in the shadow of the rainbow

I will fear no evil.

Your mercies are beyond understanding,

Your wisdom beyond belief.

I will turn to you for my answers,

To you for my comfort.

Yea, though I am on the brink of despair,

You lift me from the pit of my own understanding.

Under your wings, O Lord, I am protected.

Deliver me, O Lord, from the counsel of the ungodly.

Deliver me from me.

I will praise you all of my days.

May I live in the house of the Lord forever!

Amen

 

A Psalm of Don

