VEGAN FAITH? – SAYS WHO?


I am reading this morning from my YouVersion Bible, and happened upon Gen. 1:29-30. I read it again. Since I have over a hundred versions and translations to choose from in this application, I tried several of them and IT read basically the same thing.

29 And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb yielding seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in which is fruit of a tree, yielding seed; to you it shall be for food. 30 and to every beast of the earth, and to every bird of the heavens, and to everything that creepeth upon the earth, wherein there is life, I have given every green herb for food: and it was so.” (KJV)

Now, from my youth I have heard it touted the we should return to the diet of Eden, for better health, for longer life, and etc. Although our family did not practice a vegetarian lifestyle, we did were not heavy meat eaters, either. It wasn’t until I married a practicing vegetarian during my early twenties, that I became persuaded of the lifestyle. It wasn’t until I was in my mid-fifties that I heard of a Vegan. If I thought a vegetarian lifestyle weird, I REALLY thought a vegan lifestyle was out of touch with reality.

Since vegetarian diet was supposed to be like it was in Eden, it made good sense to get back to the original plan. That was a major point in the church that I attended, it was the whole idea of living.

But it seems that I have been taking too literally, the teachings of the church, without checking out the Biblical reasoning behind those teachings.

Although the texts quoted above was His original plan, Adam and Eve threw a monkey wrench in those plans, by not following the script He gave them. Everything changed. Big time. Especially after He destroyed the earth by a flood. The Bible says that after Noah and his party survived, God said in

Gen. 9:2-4, “… 2The fear and dread of you will fall on all the beasts of the earth, and on all the birds of the sky, on every creature that moves along the ground, and all the fish of the sea; they are given into your hands. 3 Everything that lives and moves about will be food for you. Just as I gave you green plants, I now give you everything. 4 But you must not eat meat that still has its lifeblood still in it.” (NIV)

Now, it seems that the ORIGINAL diet of Eden DID NOT include salads… only fruits, herbs, and nuts. It wasn’t until after the Flood that meat (without blood in it), and salad was added to the diet of mankind. By God Himself.

Did He added meat and salad to shorten our lifespan, or was it added to counter the effects of the changes on earth that were the results of the flood?

Perhaps what we eat should be judged in the context of Romans 14:1-3

1 Accept the one whose faith is weak, without quarreling over disputable matters. 2 One person’s faith allows them to eat anything, but another, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The one who eats everything must not treat with contempt the one who does not, and the one who does not eat everything must not judge the one who does, for God has accepted them {both}.”

 

 

 

Was it really because my faith was weak, that I became a vegetarian or you a vegan?

 I’m not to criticize a meat eater for believing he can eat anything. Because God died for his sins just as He died for mine. Whether either of us see the Kingdom of God or not, does NOT depend on how we eat, but whether we have faith! It is obvious from verse 3, that He accepts the strong in faith as well as the weak of faith.

So, you can enjoy your Kosher burger and I’ll eat my salad until I have the strength of your faith. We can both give thanks to God for His provisions and meeting our needs.

