First Published Works Pt.2


 

In the same publication referred to yesterday, I entered a poem that I wrote that was inspired by a piece of literature called “Jabberwacky.” I think mine flows better, although it is a mixture of English, Spanish, German and non-sense.

 

When reading this aloud and you come to the capitalized letters, read the letters individually, i.e. “F U N E X ?” slurred a little would sound like, “Have you any eggs?”

 

Sure it’s a corny poem. I guess they’d publish about anything in those days. I wonder, does WWU still have a Literary Club on campus? Do they still publish The Gadfly?

 

I might humbly inject here, that my cover design for the publication was accepted and used on the 1959-60 Gadfly.

 

 

 

                             JABBERHOUSS

5-10-1960

 

Ina’ land o’ kidpidd, two boo they slew

Por que they slay? To fore the

door!

Ina’ lan o’ kidpidd too dear fear,

Two peds who bi; and when alone

Sigh.

We tree hab gone gobblygook mit der

Liver fluke. Vee got Jabberhouss;

Yass!

Bottom lose de goat and de goose.

F U N E X? S E F X! Goot, take

X!

Milch mit der X? Nay, belly away.

Me vant vennygook mit der X!

Bellydoom.

Wantum carrum flu tee do de di,

Two peds who bi; vee got Jabberhouss.

Strikeout, poutout, countout, yasure!

Yebattshee. NU fresh McLish?

Whatitt?

Jabberhouss fambilly.

 

 

