Temptations


In considering the topic of temptations, I wonder at the Biblical story of Jesus and his followers who wanted to learn to pray like he was used to doing. They asked him, Lord teach us to pray.

So he instructed them, “Our Father who art in heaven… lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil…”

Now, it has been my understanding that God never deliberately tempts a person to disobey. That is the role of Satan. Added to that is the realization that meeting and defeating temptation builds character. So why the plead not be led into temptation?

Shouldn’t our attitude be, “Bring it on Satan, I may fail but my Big Brother done wupped your ass and gave me a Home Pass to heaven!”

Somebody confirm or set me straight on this.

2 thoughts on “Temptations

  1. I have always wondered about those words so I say “Help that I may not be lead into temptation” It seems more appropriate. Of course I can’t say it this way when being lead in an “open” prayer with others, but think it anyway. Glad there is someone else out there with a “strange and questioning” mind. Love Ya. Ina

Comments are closed.