Jesus, addressing his disciples said,

 1 “All this I have told you so that you will not fall away. 2 They will put you out of the synagogue; in fact, the time is coming when anyone who kills you will think they are offering a service to God. 3 They will do such things because they have not known the Father or me. 4 I have told you this, so that when their time comes you will remember that I warned you about them. I did not tell you this from the beginning because I was with you,

I’ve often wondered why it is that people around the world have hated Jews with such vigor, and at various times they have hated Christians equally.
In the above quote, he was talking to Jews in general and to a small groups that would be known in a few years as “Christians.” He was warning them of what would be their lot in life for following him. He told them ahead of time so that they would not get discouraged and think they were doing something wrong.
For some reason verse two jumped off the page at me. It is particularly relevant to today. “… the time is coming when anyone who kills you will think they are offering a service to God…”
The clue as to WHY they do this is in verse three, “… They will do such things because they have not known the Father or me.”
Even the Christian church went through phases, known in history as the Crusades, and the Protestant era, of killing those who did not agree with the corporate stand on various issues. Today, we are experiencing persecution and death at the hands of radical Muslims, and the reasons are the same, they don’t know the Father or His son, Jesus.

