Leaving Town


I’ve been pretty busy this past week. Although it has been scheduled to rain nearly every day, I was able finish the deck construction at Stuart’s house. Paul and I had pretty much got the deck together before he had to leave.

Laura and Sarah left for work at Big Pines Youth camp, so Anita and Pedro wanted to go camping with us. There is a very nice camp on Battle Ridge, just a few miles from Bozeman that we decided on. They left Thursday afternoon and went went up Friday afternoon.

They got the brunt of a morning squall. More than an inch of snow greeted them Friday morning. Back home, our furnace had quit working earlier in the week, so we had been using electric heaters. But wait! Out in the “wilds,” we would either have to find a current bush to plug into , or use the generator in order to keep warm. We, I guess we could dress warm and go for a walk to keep warm.

When we arrived the snow was gone and it wasn’t raining. So, we all set off for a walk to see what flowers were in bloom. The most obvious were the yellow Glacier Lilies. But, as we walked we began to see more and more blooms.

I challenged Anita to a bloom hunt to see who could photograph the largest number of blooms. View my collection here.   We dodged raindrops, hiked, photographed flowers and tried to key them, and generally had a good time. Anita posted her’s on Facebook. http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/album.php?aid=59889&id=1540905867

When we got back from camping we parked in the Ojeda’s yard, because our normal space on campus was to be used for campmeeting. I suspected that I might have backed into trouble when I saw that I was leaving tire tracks 2” deep in their lawn. When I extended the jacks and could level the motorhome, my suspicions were confirmed. The 6” blocks that I usually put under the jacks disappeared into the ground. I added more blocking. All-in-all he’s got at least 12” of blocking buried 6” under the surface of his grass! When I tried to reposition the motorhome the tires started going down, too.

I gave up on the leveling and we slept with our heads at the foot of the bed! The next day Pedro mounted his winch to his Toyota, cabled it to a tree that was across the street, pulled it out. Let’s hear a cheer for the David vs. Goliath! It came right out.

We left this past Wednesday afternoon, headed for Tabor’s graduation from Battle Ground HS. Stopped in Pasco for an early lunch and to see some friends. Arrived in Yacolt about 5 PM Thursday. The drop in elevation from Bozeman to Yacolt hasn’t really helped the weather… it’s still mostly cloudy  with 40 % chance of rain.

