One Week and Progressing


One week ago, today, I was being stitched up about this hour. The surgery has gone well. I made the noon rounds with Evelyn today and this afternoon I’ll be going to the beach with her and Jolie for the first time after surgery.

I’ve done a lot of “lounging” and walking about a 1/4 per day. While lounging I’ve read an awesome book, How Starbucks Saved My Life  by Michael Gates Gill. He was  a top Exec for a top advertising agency in NY City… Until he got the Pink Slip at 60 years-old after giving them 25 years of his life. After five years of trying to get a job, he was sitting in a Starbucks wondering when he should give it all up, when a nice Afro-American lady asked him if he’d like a job at Starbucks… working for her.
 Did he?! He filled out the app. and went into training. He discovered that they offer health care for even their part-time employees.
The book chronicles the first year of his new lease-on-life. Over all, it’s a very interesting read.
I’m not even a coffee drinker, but I’ve a new admiration for the business model of this company.

Two weeks until departure time.

