“Miss Me But Let Me Go”


When I come to the end of the road
and the sun has set for me
I want not rites in a gloom-filled room.
Why cry for the soul set free?

Miss me a little and not too long,
and not with your head bowed low.
Remember the love that we once shared.

Remember me, but let me go.
For this is a journey that we all must take
and each must go alone.
It’s part of life’s plan,
A step on the road home.

When you are lonely and sick at heart,
go to the family and friends we know,
and bury your sorrows in doing good deeds,
Miss me, but let me go.

Today, we attended a memorial for a friend that we knew for way too few years. Jerry Edward Courtney died Nov. 23, 2009 after struggling with Alzheimer’s for nearly 5 years. After a 12 year courtship, he married one of my childhood schoolmates, Shirley Keilman-Romig ,just last summer.

I’ve been wondering for the last 7 weeks, why it seems that we have NOT been able to get out of Yacolt this winter. Today the pieces of the puzzle fell into place. God has kept me here for the job he had for me today at the memorial!

You see, ten minutes before the memorial service, someone called the minister, because he hadn’t arrived yet. It seems that he had written Dec. 22 on his calendar Planner, and was already engaged in another activity!

Shirley’s mother quietly called me aside to ask if I could help them out. It was my honor to MC the event… even at a “moment’s notice.”

As this poem points out, Shirley, it’s a path that we all must take… alone. Gather your remaining friends and family, and cling to the Lord for comfort. You are still young. You may have a lot of years yet to live. Live them for Him and He’ll not disappoint you.

Farewell Jerry, may we see you again.

